|
|
Important Notice BT ARE EVAUALTING THE RESULTS OF THE WEBWISE TRIAL THEY RAN LATE LAST YEAR, IF BT GO AHEAD AND ROLLOUT WEBWISE ACROSS ITS RETAIL BROADBAND NETWORK IT WILL MONITOR ALL NON ENCRYPTED BROWSING OF ITS HOME CUSTOMERSI have removed all my copyright material to protect my intellectual Property. Virgin Media and TALK TALK (aka Car Phone Warehouse) are watching the trials and considering whether to deploy WebWise. Due to Car Phone Warehouse buying Tiscali all existing Tiscali UK broadband customers will be subjected to PHORM if Talk Talk proceed with a rollout of WebWise Orange and SKY Broadband are also apparently considering this system as well, but at this moment in time seem to be distancing themselves from WebWise / PHORM BT Ran "potentially illegal" trails of this system in both 2006 and 2007 but DID NOT inform users of the system and when users complained to BT they were told they had "SPYWARE or a VIRUS" on their PC They will be paid commission by the software / system provider PHORM (aka 121Media) based on the number of adverts served to its customer, Phorm use the data harvested by the Webwise system to targeted adverts based on the URL AND content of EVERY PAGE unencrypted page you look at on the internet (minus a few categories of data they say they do not process) Please be aware this works by watching your entire unencrypted web browsing to provide targeted adverts. And when I say ALL I mean ALL, it even looks at any search terms you type into Google, yahoo, Lycos etc To put it in perspective if you can search for it in Google then PHORM / Webwise have the ability to add it to your profile and lots more The WebWise help pages only tell you half the story, do some research, type PHORM into Google etc and see just what they are hiding from you The WebWise anti phishing filter is no better than the one in your internet explorer or internet security package and Phorm are rebranding it an anti-fraud feature, the only thing WebWise does is allow you ISP to make money from everything you look at on the internet, including some emails if you use web based email not on their list of less than 1000 webmail portals to exclude, so that companies can give you adverts a number of knowledgeable people have said the system is illegal, under R.I.P.A. (2000), data protection act , EU privacy law (PERC) and several others If you are a website owner / operator then BT Webwise will create a mirror copy of your page, then create a derivative work of the page called a data digest (this contains the 10 most common words on page not in the noise word list, the URL, date/time stamp and the visitors UID ) then pass that to the channel / advert server run by Phorm, using your copyright work for the commercial gain of Phorm, the ISP partner and the channel operator. A BT customers view of BT and if they are worthy of TRUST if you want to know more information go to any of the links below and read what is happening http://www.phonecallsuk.co.uk/bt-webwise.html http://www.theregister.co.uk/2008/02/29/phorm_roundup http://www.inphormationdesk.org http://www.inphormationdesk.org/Phorm_Flyer.pdf http://www.inphormationdesk.org/attributions.htm Phorm have put "THEIR" side of the story at www.stopphoulplay.com phorms privacy pirates read the site carefully and follow the links provided and see if you think they are misrepresenting the information by using very selective quotes. They have tried to publically link screen names used on forums etc. to the real names of people, and Phorm claim to protect privacy. Phorm have changed the content and claims on their StopPhoulPlay website a number of times to remove information, with no explanation. if it was all correct why would they need to change the claims they made (look at StopPhoulPlay changes on NoDPI.org) Phorm say "decided to expose the smears and set out the true story" , read the site and draw your own conclusions. Be vigilant as there are also products by outfits called NEBUAD and FrontPorch which are very similar to PHORM / BT WEBWISE who are also trying to launch a targeted advertising system in the UK shortly, no ISP partners have yet been announced by NebuAd but we are watching closely Peter White
|
|
|
|
Send mail to webmaster@secure-is.co.uk with any questions or comments about this web site. |
|
|